• Opinions

Opinions

Should you apply for Social Security now or later?

on Tuesday, 06 June 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Now or later? When it comes to the question of Social Security income, the choice looms large. Should you apply now to get earlier payments? Or wait for a few years to get larger checks?

Not so ordinary town names

on Tuesday, 06 June 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Across our nation and even in our own state, are some interesting, and unusual, names of cities and towns. The stories behind these names would probably make an entertaining book.

Excuses not to diet and exercise

on Wednesday, 18 January 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

It is that time of year when many Americans are trying to keep their New Year’s Resolutions. Included in the Top 10 list of most popular resolutions is to lose weight and exercise more.

Do our attitudes about money help or hurt us?

on Wednesday, 11 January 2017. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Our relationship with money is complex and emotional. When we pay a bill, go to the mall, trade in a car for a new one, hunt for a home or apartment, or pass someone seemingly poor or rich on the street, we feel things and harbor certain perceptions.

Thank you William Shakespeare

on Wednesday, 11 January 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

William Shakespeare gave us more than plays, sonnets and poems. The Bard contributed thousands of phrases, sayings, proverbs and idioms to the English language – more than any other individual. Most are still used today.

Life in America, 100 years ago

on Wednesday, 04 January 2017. Posted in Columns, Opinions

As we look forward to 2017 let’s take a glimpse of life in America 100 years ago.

The intriguing post-election rally

on Wednesday, 28 December 2016. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Wall Street likes certainty. When startling financial, political, or societal events occur, volatility usually follows, and the major indices may fall. In late October, the Dow Jones Industrial Average went on a multi-day losing streak as Donald Trump

Looking back 100 years to 1917

on Wednesday, 28 December 2016. Posted in Columns, Opinions

As we quickly approach the new year 2017, here are some historical events from 1917:

Should you care what the Market does each day?

on Wednesday, 21 December 2016. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Investors are people, and people are often impatient. No one likes to wait in line or wait longer than they have to for something, especially today when so much is just a click or two away.

Enjoying the holiday events

on Wednesday, 21 December 2016. Posted in Columns, Opinions

I love Brookgreen Gardens at Murrells Inlet anytime of the year, but it is magical during the Nights of a Thousand Candles event. This annual Christmas celebration which lights up the outdoor sculpture gardens has become a tradition for me and some of my

The ‘power’ of the purse

on Wednesday, 14 December 2016. Posted in Columns, Opinions

All my life I have been intrigued with handbags. As a little girl, I got as excited about a new “pocket book” as I did about a new doll. As an adult, I don’t desire dolls anymore, but I am still a fan of the purse.

End-of-the-year money moves

on Wednesday, 07 December 2016. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Here are some things you might want to do before saying goodbye to 2016. What has changed for you in 2016? Did you start a new job or leave a job behind? Did you retire? Did you start a family?

What Christmas means to some of us

on Wednesday, 07 December 2016. Posted in Columns, Opinions

As we approach the Christmas season, I like to share some wonderful quotes describing the spirit of Christmas.

Time for humor and laughter

on Tuesday, 29 November 2016. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Experts say laughter is the best medicine. God’s word says, “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” Proverbs 17:22 ESV. It’s time for laughter.

Should you care what the market does each day?

on Tuesday, 22 November 2016. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Investors are people, and people are often impatient. No one likes to wait in line or wait longer than they have to for something, especially today when so much is just a click or two away.
[12 3 4 5  >>