• Opinions

Opinions

Spring break in Washington

on Wednesday, 18 April 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Taking my teenage granddaughters to Washington, D.C., during their spring break seemed like a great idea. I wanted them to see our nation’s Capitol and get a visual of this beautiful city and a better understanding what it is about. So, on April 3, I drov

Just a little trivia

on Wednesday, 11 April 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Don’t worry about the male mosquitoes, only female mosquitoes will bite you. In the early stage version of “The Wizard of Oz,” Dorothy’s faithful companion Toto was replaced by a cow named Imogene. Dr. Seuss was challenged to write a book using no more th

Will Rogers’ sentiments still valid

on Tuesday, 03 April 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Although Will Rogers died in a plane crash in 1935, his witty comments and advice still seem appropriate 82 years later. Such as.... Lord, the money we do spend on government! And its not one bit better than the government we got for one-third the money t

2018 retirement account limits

on Tuesday, 27 March 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

In 2018, you have another chance to max out your retirement accounts. Here is a rundown of yearly contribution limits for the popular retirement savings vehicles. IRAs. The 2018 limits are the same as in 2016: $5,500 for IRA owners who will be 49 and you

More good advice to live by

on Tuesday, 27 March 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Following are some meaningful quotes that I have discovered and collected: The time is always right to do what is right. Martin Luther King Jr., 1929-1968. God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well. Francois-Ma

How many of these slogans do you know?

on Tuesday, 20 March 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

I’ve been seeing a lot of TV commercials lately for BDO. You know the slogan, “People who know, know BDO.” While it is a catchy slogan that is ingrained in my memory, I really don’t know BDO. So, I Googled it. I learned the network originally formed in 19

Good reasons to retire later

on Wednesday, 14 March 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

Are you in your fifties and unsure if you have enough retirement savings? Then you have two basic financial choices. You could start saving and investing more of your pay than you currently do, or you could work longer so you have fewer years of retiremen

The Southern way of phrasing things

on Wednesday, 14 March 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

If you’ve grown up in the South, you’re heard all, or most, of the following sayings about people and life. You’ve probably said some of them yourself: Well butter my butt and call me a biscuit. I feel like I’ve been chewed up and spit out. He’s been rode

Spiritual buffet

on Tuesday, 06 March 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

I love going out to eat with friends and family and one of the best places to go is a good ‘ole buffet. Walking in you see and smell the steaming smorgasbord of delectable delights to choose from. There is so much to select that you can hardly decide what

Why you should have an online social security

on Tuesday, 06 March 2018. Posted in Editorials, Opinions

The possibility cannot be dismissed. Sensitive financial and medical data pertaining to your life may not be as safe as you think, and thieves may turn to a vast resource to try and mine it – the Social Security Administration Consider three facts, which

Keeping up in our fast changing world of devices

on Tuesday, 06 March 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

‘Our world is quickly changing and it is doing so right before our eyes. Many electronic items and services that were once so necessary to us no longer exist. I am thinking of: Film cameras and camera shops that developed and printed our photos. Telephone

It’s nice to be nice

on Tuesday, 27 February 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

Random acts of kindness are a crash course in being more like Christ. You want to be more like Christ? Then I suggest that you sharpen your acts of kindness skills. For instance, if you are approached by a beggar or panhandler and you don’t have money to

Getting old beats the alternative

on Tuesday, 27 February 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

Here are some interesting thoughts and comments I found about getting old. “Old age is always fifteen years older than I am,” said Oliver Wendell Holmes Aging is a Catch 22: When you’re young you have time and energy, but no money. When you’re middle-age

Stick to your assignment

on Tuesday, 20 February 2018. Posted in Letters to the Editor, Opinions

When God speaks to your heart and gives you an assignment, don’t begin thinking of excuses not to obey. Remember obedience brings about blessing. People are always expecting God to bless them, but they forget that they must first obey Him. When Moses hear

Listing a few superlatives of our world

on Tuesday, 20 February 2018. Posted in Columns, Opinions

What is the world’s most visited city? Bangkok, the Thai capital became the first Asian city to top the 2017 MasterCard Global Destination Cities Index. Bangkok edged out London, the previous No.1, with 20.2 million international visitors who generated an
[12 3 4 5  >>